Our first weekend in Montevideo is coming to a close and alas, Kevin and I found no laundromat. On the plus side, it’s too cold to sweat and get any of our clothes really dirty.

As planned, though, we found several nearby groceries. As far as I can tell, there is nothing like a Kroger/Publix/Giant/Safeway/Piggly Wiggly in the city. All the stores are fairly small and, it seems, fairly high-priced. Regular folks do buy meat there though, as is evidenced by this man, in a small-sized grocery butchering a WHOLE COW with a SAW.

Image

I was totally creepin’ on this guy to take this picture when he turned around, but I said hi and he smiled at me, so I think I’m safe from the saw… for now…

I haven’t had the courage yet to buy meat at a counter (they have saws! intimidating!), but I did have the best fast food hamburger of my life yesterday at a local chain called La Pasiva (the passive? I don’t really get it.).

Image

Not much for presentation, but still the best. Perfectly spicy, perfect size, perfect done-ness, not greasy, but still hefty, and served in less than 10 minutes.

So flavorful! I read that Uruguay is a massive exporter of agricultural products, but although there is a high demand and they export a ton bazillions of tons of beef, they keep the best for themselves. Not like Costa Rica, where you can’t really get a decent cup of coffee! They also use this mayonnaise that I actually like. I can’t put my finger on what it is about it that’s different, but when I figure it out, I’ll let you know.

Also this weekend, we found multiple street markets, which I’ll post more about tomorrow – everything from vegetables to socks to antiques. These people brave the cold like I you wouldn’t believe. If it were this cold in DC, there might be market vendors, but they would be wearing multiple blankets, bring their generators, and have space heaters aimed at themselves. The Uruguayans just pour themselves some more yerba mate and get on with life. Special market oddity preview:

Image

so inappropriate! why does this exist!? Moreover, why would you use a mug with a hole in it?!

Anyway, tomorrow, I go into full-time job-hunt mode! Wish me luck!

