Tags

, , ,

Our apartment here in Montevideo is “furnished.” Things that doesn’t include that I wish it did: a plunger (although it has one now, as it became very necessary…), a broom, a coffee maker, and a vegetable peeler. Carrots being one of my favorite snack foods and a necessary ingredient in my tomato sauce of first cooking-post fame, this lack of peeler was disconcerting until my wise and brilliant spouse showed me this trick that I will pass on to all of you.

Did you know that you can peel a carrot (and I would guess also a potato) with the blunt edge of a steak knife? You can! You just run the blunt edge over the veggie just like you would a peeler.

Image

While it doesn’t peel neatly, and it takes a little longer, you lose all danger of peeling oneself instead of the veggie, as I have done on multiple occasions. And more importantly, you don’t need a peeler to get the job done! Maybe all of you knew this already and I am the last one, but I thought this was so cool.

One other note about carrots: I have been absolutely astonished at the size of carrots down here and in Costa Rica – they are absolutely massive.

Image

When you buy them in the US, they are so tiny by comparison! Especially the organic ones are skinny and knotted, and altogether kind of pathetic. I begin to wonder if this hemisphere pities us our wimpy carrots.

